IN THIS SECTION

Student Life
Your Support

Contact Us

John Arnou
Manager, Student Success
519-884-8111 x 28241
Paige Doherty
Student Advisor
519-884-8111 x 28210
Stephanie Morrison
Student Success Coordinator
519-884-8111 x 28310
Your Support
Interpreter of degree requirements and University regulations. Online resource navigator. Goals and career plan consultant. Personal development coach. Referral agent for Waterloo services. You’ll find that your academic advisor wears many hats and can play more than one valuable role in your academic success!
Academic Advising
Academic advising can help, support, and challenge you so that you can optimize your learning and success. Advisors are a good resource to connect with to discuss:
  • course selection and course enrolment
  • your specific degree and major requirements
  • academic regulations
  • any issues you might encounter that will have an impact on your studies
 
Students in the Faculty of Arts have a separate advisor for each academic plan (program, major, minor) they are completing. For example, if you’re an Arts and Business student who is majoring in Honours Legal Studies with a Psychology minor, you’ll have 3 different advisors:
  • one for your program (ex. Honours Arts )
  • one for your major plan (ex. Legal Studies)
  • one for your minor plan (ex. Psychology) 
 
You can find out who your advisors are by looking at the list of St. Jerome’s University advisors.
 
Program
Advisor
Contacts
Arts and Business Co-op and Regular
Years 1, 2, 3, and 4
Paige Doherty
519-884-8111, x28210
paige.doherty@uwaterloo.ca
SH 1007
Honours Arts
Year 1
Paige Doherty
519-884-8111, x28210
paige.doherty@uwaterloo.ca
SH 1007
General Arts, Liberal Studies,
Years 2, 3, and 4
Paige Doherty
519-884-8111, x28210
paige.doherty@uwaterloo.ca
SH 1007
Catholic Studies
Cristina Vanin
519-884-8111, x28266
cdvanin@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2030
English
Tristanne Connolly
519-884-8111, x28244
tristanne.connolly@uwaterloo.ca 
SH 2203
French
Kerry Lappin-Fortin
519-884-8111, x28278
klappinfortin@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2213
History
Ryan Touhey
519-884-8111, x28218
ryan.touhey@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2022
Human Sciences
Nick Zunic
519-884-8111, x28229
nzunic@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2003
Italian
Gabe Niccoli
519-884-8111, x28235
gniccoli@uwaterloo.ca
3007
Legal Studies
Paige Doherty
519-884-8111, x28210
paige.doherty@uwaterloo.ca
SH 1007
Medieval Studies
Steven Bednarski
519-884-8111, x28276
stevenb@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2018
Philosophy
Bruno Tremblay
519-884-8111, x28248
btrembla@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2001
Psychology
BJ Rye
519-884-8111, x28219
bjrye@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2036
Religious Studies
Myroslaw Tataryn
519-884-8111, x28299
mitataryn@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2024
Sexuality, Marriage & Families Studies
John Arnou
519-884-8111, x28241
jarnou@uwaterloo.ca
SH 1008
Sociology
Susan Brophy
519-884-8111, x28284
s3brophy@uwaterloo.ca
SH 2009

 

Student Success Coaching
Student Success Coaching begins with your questions and continues with an engaging, solutions- and strengths-focused conversation between you and an advisor or PAL. This dialogue explores your strong points; areas where you could improve; and opportunities for resolution, growth, and development. Our team in Student Success is your partner in achieving your goals.
 
Common themes of success coaching sessions:
  • Time management
  • Study skills
  • Balance & wellness
  • Goal setting
  • Exploration of strengths
  • Campus service referrals
 
Did You Know?
Our PALs (Peer Academic Leaders) provide peer success coaching from our Student Success Office reception area. Keep an eye out for them in the Student Success Office and stop in!
Explore Additional Waterloo Resources
Remember -- as a St. Jerome’s University student, you're also a University of Waterloo student, with access to all main-campus facilities and services. Not sure how to find what you need? Just ask us!
 
Knowing the ropes is halfway to success. We can help you learn them!